Poem – Sight Guards

July 5th, 2017

A poem from the challenge word “GUARD”. Proposed by the exceptional blogger and poet Grexxen.


In a world where love is taken for granted, the act of actually protecting and guarding love ones is not as appreciated as it should be. Feelings, emotions and friendships need to be sheltered.  When trust is laid on somebody, an intrinsic responsibility of guarding that trust is also is also laid on the-now guard. Silently the guard acknowledges the other person’s vulnerability, and now has the honour to secure it.

A poem on the shape of a AABBAA CCDDC

I give you,

Sight Guards

by Adriana

 

A long time back, on a pale autumn’s day,

we set sight on each other, unable to look away.

Perplexed we stood in awe

for in our eyes we saw

eagerness to be wondered of all coulours, even gray,

and an unexplicable light that lures excitment here to stay.

 

Beguiling eyes, so smart

that speak a language to my heart

that tell no lies,

have no disguise

So, I guard all their stories since the start.

 

The power of your eyes is like a potion,

that stops the world and all its motion.

Of hues as the lagoon,

and bright as the moon.

They are deep and vast as the esoteric ocean,

guarding their wisdom is my only devotion

 

Your sight has a voice that speaks and even sings

of lost number, beauty and forgotten high kings

your eyes tell a story

of truth and glory

that I consistently guard with unbreakable strings.

 

Years passed and I crossed the wildest of desert dunes

Travelled the six continents by only hot-air balloons

Climbed the highest mountains

Swam in the deepest fountains

But I could never forget the time of those magical afternoons,

so siletly I promised to forever guard your eyes and their musical tunes.

 

Today, although silver shades cover my head, you came and confessed

that all this time being a guarding of my eyes was also your quest.

excitement in my eyes flared

when into our eyes I stared,

and saw the new life that was waiting for us to eagerly address.

 

 


Thank you for reading! 

I hope you liked my poem! Don’t forget to LIKE it!!! and why not FOLLOW me.

Want to challenge me with a new word, leave in in the comment section! 

 

 

One thought on “Poem – Sight Guards”

Leave a Reply

