Eurovision 2017 – First Semifinal (Quick Note)

Even when it starts at 3 am in Taiwan, it is a show that I love to watch.

The Hosts

This year it is being hosted by Ukraine. Some years the hosts are really lame and they make the show terrible. Sweden has had the best hosts I have seen, but these Ukrainian guys aren’t falling behind. Nice, charming and witty.

esc hosts

Kinda hot, if you ask me. I wonder if they are straight.


Highlights

Sweden!

So they decided to start the show with this absolutely outstanding handsome guy! Mans did a great Job two years ago, but I would not mind going back to Sweden AGAIN for him.

sweden

Montenegro

A highlight? Yes! Not because he was good, but because he was a living braid helicopter, look at him! Then you wonder why the Eurovision is eccentric!

helicpter

Portugal

What a lovely song! Sweet, calm and it sounds so romantic. I am pretty sure he will not win, but it would be lovely if he does!

portugal.jpeg


The Other Songs

  1. Sweden
  2. Georgia – Beautiful voice, nice dress.
  3. Australia – His voice is too mature for his young face. I hated his background. Next time Aussies.
  4. Albania – Nothing special
  5. Belgium – I am surprised by her deep voice. Not my favourite, but the song is not bad.
  6. Montenegro
  7. Finland – it’s ok. Nothing more to say
  8. Azerbaijan – Not very good. I remember this country as having nice, well polished songs with classy performance. I think they are absobing the eccentricity from other. I, personally don’t see them in the final. But maybe if they buy it, of course.
  9. Portugal
  10. Greece – Nothing special
  11. Poland – Ehm… next.
  12. Moldova – They make think of Ed Sheeran… but, don’t misunderstand me, no nobody compares to Ed’s talent
  13. Iceland – a cape???
  14. Czech Republic – soft song, that is it.
  15. Cyprus – I actually enjoy this song. Very nice and the guy is good looking. Hope he makes it to the final.
  16. Armenia – Interesting hue
  17. Slovenia – Doesn’t he look like Robbie Williams?
  18. Latvia – Why??? are you the Miley Cyrus of Europe?
slovenia.jpg
Slovenia’s Robbie William

And if you are curious about Latvia

AN UPDATE

The countries that made it to the final are (in the order they were announced):

  • Moldova: Hey Mamma by Sunstroke Project
  • Azerbaijan: Skeletons by Dihaj
  • Greece: This Is Love by Demy
  • Sweden: I Can’t Go On by Robin Bengtsson
  • Portugal: Amar Pelos Dois by Salvador Sobral
  • Poland: Flashlight by Kasia Moś
  • Armenia: Fly With Me by Artsvik
  • Australia: Don’t Come Easy by Isaiah
  • Cyprus: Gravity by Hovig
  • Belgium: City Lights by Blanche

Ok, with Armenia, Greece and Poland, I  think they were just filling the remaining space. As these songs were not special at all.

I am also pretty sure Azerbaijan and Australia, pay quite a lot of money for this event, so even though they are not in the Big Ones, they always make to the Final.

Moldova, wasn’t a complete disaster. So altogether with Cyprus and Belgium, they are fairly in this list. Hope they do good in the final. and by this I mean I hope they do not end up last. I simply do not see them winning.

Sweden and Portugal. As you read before, they are some of my favorites. It would be very hard for me to have to chose between these two countries, but although the Swedish is hot, I think the Portugal guy has more talent.

As he did not needed much in his performance to make the audience vote for him. He did not even had to sing in English. His inicial introduction was so cute and not show off as others. It was only him in libraries and reading in the tram. He looks like a nice, well-hearted guy, with not only sweet voice but knowledgeable brain.

12 points for Portugal.


I hope you liked this quick note on the Eurovision.

I have watched the Eurovision for 8 years. Yes, sometimes it is disappointing to see get too political. But every year the show is espectacular, they put a lot of effort in the details and many of the performances are high quality. The songs feel fresh from what there is always on the radio. It can be quite weird sometimes, but it is entertaining. In short words, I love the Eurovision.

I will post again for the second semifinal and the final

Why don’t you subscribe and I’ll see you in the next post.

Cuvée Pierre – Minerva

Movie afternoon with Grexxen and SaltyAvocado went from great to amazing with the mind-blowing series “BlackMirror“. Even though this is not about the series, I seriously recommend it. It is full of unexpected twists and exploits different futuristic and technology situations. Some of them in the far future, and they might feel like impossible situations, but they leave you thinking when you realise that it might already be like that. Some other episodes present situations, somehow technology-related and that they could happen now or at any time. If I had to rate this series, I would say that the SunShower rating is

Continue reading